Talgarth Town

Talgarth is a small market town in southern Powys, Mid Wales, with a population of around 1650 people. Notable buildings in the town include its 14th-century parish church and 13th century Pele Tower, located in the town centre, which is now a private residence, but also home to  the Tourist Information and Resource Centre. Traditional accounts present Talgarth as the capital of the early medieval Welsh Kingdom of Brycheiniog. Talgarth was also the principal town of the ‘Hundred’ known as Brycheiniog.
The parochial boundaries of Talgarth reach up into the Black Mountains and include the upper Rhiangoll Valley. The rivers Enig and Ellywe join just outside the town’s main square at the location known as ‘The Rocks’ as the two rivers become ‘The Enig’.. The confluence of the two rivers is impressive when the rivers are in spate.
The Enig flooded the town in April 1998 when debris became trapped under the bridge but much flood alleviation work has been undertaken since then. The Enig flows into the Llynfi  just below Bronllys Castle, which in turn joins the River Wye at Glasbury.
Talgarth is a historical Town, connected to the names of Brychan and Gwendoline in the age of the Celtic Saints. The town, a centre for tourists situated in the Brecon Beacons National Park, provides a stock-market for the local farming community. Local villages in the surrounding area are Bronllys, Trefecca, Pengenffordd and the Three Cocks area.
The Town contains a church, chapels, a school, a library, a surgery, a fire station, two bakeries, a slaughter house, a butcher’s shop with Deli, two hairdressers, a Chinese Takeaway, a Co-op, a general grocer’s store cum newsagent, a home interiors store, two craft shops, a working garage, sporting and leisure facilities, many clubs, pubs and cafes, a residential home,  a caravan park, small factories, two business parks, two joineries, an agricultural engineer and last but by no means least, the renowned Talgarth Mill with ‘The Baker’s Table’ cafe. .
Like many small rural towns Talgarth has seen a decline in recent years. This was exacerbated with the closure of the Mid Wales Hospital. Since the refurbishment of Talgarth Mill and the reopening of it as a tourist attraction in 2011 plus other local initiatives such as the Festival of the Black Mountains there are now new shops and businesses opening and once more Talgarth appears to be on the up. The Town’s Regeneration Group, in conjunction with the Town Council are actively developing a number of initiatives which seek to build upon the town’s natural attributes of a fascinating history and a stunning location coupled with a warm Welsh welcome to all who visit the town.
Llanelieu Parish has long been diminished by depopulation. Llanelieu church was formally declared redundant some years ago, but from time to time, and with the permission of the diocese, candle-lit concerts are held in its timeless, atmospheric setting.
Coleg Trefecca, the centre of Howell Harris’s methodist revival in Wales, lies ljust a mile from Talgarth and is now a museum/conference centre serving the Presbyterian Church of Wales. It had continued the work begun by Howell Harris some 250 years ago, Harris would often give his sermons in the churchyard of St Gwendoline’s Church because not having been ordained he was not allowed to preach inside the church. It is claimed that 20000 people attended his funeral in 1773 at St. Gwendoline’s Church, such was the esteem and reverence in which he was held.